Preferred Display at Fairs/Expos etc

General discussion on entomology
Artem
Reactions:
Australia

Preferred Display at Fairs/Expos etc

Post by Artem »

Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to the entomology world and have a question about what is customary when it comes to displaying specimens for sale at expos/shows etc.

For butterflies and moths I think it's fairly straightforward - I'm relaxing specimens that are more interesting so people can view the quality when buying. For things that are ex-pupa or where I'm confident in the quality, I'll have a display specimen and they can then be purchased in paper.

For other insects, I'm not 100% sure about what to do. Especially for I guess "rarer" specimens that I have like Cetoniinae from Africa and larger Lucanidae from SE Asia. Would you expect each specimen to be spread for you to choose from? Or would viewing a sample in the display case and then choosing from specimens still on cardboard be acceptable? In some cases, I may only have one exemplar, but for others, I may have as many as 10-20.

For the less expensive ones, I am leaning towards having a display case with a sample of each spread and then people can pick from specimens still set on cardboard - is that customary?

I'd appreciate a bit of guidance from the more experienced collectors here :) And I'll be looking forward to meeting some of you at the Juvisy show which is the week following this expo.
Cassidinae
Reactions:
Czech Republic

Re: Preferred Display at Fairs/Expos etc

Post by Cassidinae »

An exposed prepared sample is always better. But it depends on the seller's capabilities. Most just don't have the opportunity (space) to have prepared samples of everything. Some only sell packaged material (a disadvantage, but a necessity).
Panacanthus
Premium Member - 2024
Premium Member - 2024
Reactions:
United States of America

Post by Panacanthus »